Celebs Sign Off

Today, I read about a campaign that celebrities are making for charity and thought I would share. In a project organized by singer Alicia Keys on behalf of her charity Keep a Child Alive, many celebrities will sign off of Twitter and Facebook. This is part of a million dollar fundraiser for World AIDS Day on December 1st. Until the charity raises their goal of a million dollars, the celebs will be silent on these social media outlets.

What I find very interesting is that the celebrities will be seen in videos, or as they are being called “last tweet and testament” videos in which they are lying in coffins. This is supposed to represent their “digital deaths.” According to Keyes, often we care more about the death of one celebrity as opposed to the millions of people dying in the world every day. I think it’s great that celebrities will actually be taking time away from promoting themselves on these sites to raise money. I’m sure they will be back on in no times because I don’t think their fans will want them to be off these sites for that long.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebs Sign Off

  1. I was unaware of this effort going on. I do feel that it is a new and refreshing way to raise awareness and money for a cause. Alicia Keys life in terms of philanthropic efforts has always been great. But if it wasn’t for this blog I would of never know about it (because I am typing this, I am going to see the ad soon!). Facebook and Twitter is a monster that will have to die out on its own. And a missing celebrity and there product pushes won’t be missed compared to seeing pictures from the latest party or finding out what your crush is up too. At the end of the day there presence is not missed, and do I think that the celebrities will be back on the internet’s biggest social sites??? yes, without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

